Wednesday, hump day

27 Oct

My girls and I sing and dance in the car to Amber‘s “Love One Another” in the morning.  In the rearview mirror, I see both girls’ ponytails bobbing left and right to the beat, and the older one actually sings some of the words.  “Love One Another, sisters and brothers, Love One Another….” I see her little mouth move to the words, and it’s pretty entertaining.

The foliage is gorgeous.  Brilliant shades of orange, red, yellow, purple light up the trees, and we point to the various colors in Japanese in the car.  “Right, upwards!” “Left, to the middle!”  It’s funny watching the little one turning her head on a two second delay, as she figures out what we are pointing to.

Today’s lunch is:

Organic chicken wingette, grilled first, then braised in a pan sauce of soy sauce, mirin, Trader Joe’s organic low-sodium vegetable stock, and white pepper.  This adds more flavor to the chicken, and is delicious even when it’s cold.

Steamed organic sweet potato drizzled in the same sauce as the chicken.

Sauteed organic pea shoots with minced garlic in olive oil, seasoned with a little salt, soy sauce and white pepper.

Quartered organic beets, roasted

Sliced lotus root, sauteed with a little sesame oil and soy sauce.  I drizzled it with a little of the sauce from the chicken, and put it on the bottom of the chicken section, which is why you won’t be able to see it. 

Hopefully she’ll give the lotus roots a try.  They are crunchy, similar to the texture of water chestnuts, but in appearance, they are very different.  When thinly sliced, each slice is about the size of a medium potato, but with holes.  It is a good “sponge” of anything it is cooked in.  I love them, and ate a good portion of them before I could even pack them for her lunch!

4 Responses to “Wednesday, hump day”

  1. PersephonesKitchen October 27, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    Lovely! Thanks for the creative lunch ideas.

    • spenmax October 28, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

      Thank YOU for checking my blog out! Love your Hubbard squash intro – it’s always intimidated me… I’ve tackled kabocha, butternut, acorn and spaghetti. After reading the “Little House on the Prairie” series, I was always dubious whether Ma HAD to use Pa’s axe. I guess so!

      • PersephonesKitchen November 1, 2010 at 2:55 pm #

        There is a lovely Japanese crepe cart (??? right?) in our town that I did a post about. They had a kabocha pumpkin crepe that was to die for. Keep posting! I’m thinking about sending some chicken drumettes along with the three and a half year old for her school lunch tomorrow. Any suggestions for something tasty to do with them that won’t be too messy? She’s adventurous, so no worries about that. Thanks again!

      • spenmax November 1, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

        Oooh. Crepe cart… sounds wonderful! If they do offer “Okonomiyaki” – you should try it. It’s a savory crepe dish with veggies, possibly meat and it’s definitely delicious! If it’s the Columbus foodie cart – wow. I’m jealous…!

        Chicken drumettes are the perfect size for little hands, I think. I’ve usually grilled them, and then add or braise them in a sauce so they are still tasty at room temperature. The bolder the sauce, the better they taste…
        My immediate thoughts are:
        – Make a marinade and add the grilled chicken, while they are still warm to absorb the flavors: my standard soy sauce/stock (shiitake, kelp, shaved bonito, chicken, veggie – any of these), grated ginger, scallions, sesame seeds
        – Make a sauce/braise from orange juice, a little soy sauce or salt and let it slowly cook down for a sweet sauce. I believe a little marmalade might also work. The key is to have a nice sweet/savory balance. My mother used to cook chicken drumsticks with a little coca-cola, soy sauce, and thinly sliced ginger.
        – lightly dust the drumettes in corn starch, deep fry until crisp and cooked. Separately, make a marinade, whether it be a soy-ginger-sesame oil-scallion (I eyeball alot), or even a light Italian vinaigrette. Add the hot drumettes into the marinade, and it’ll add flavor to the drumettes.
        – Grill or bake the drumettes, and maybe create a thicker dipping sauce in a little mini tupperware?

        I also sometimes wrap either a piece of waxpaper or foil at the bottom of the drumette in the hopes my daughter’ll use it as a “handle” for the chicken!

        I’m relatively new at this blog reply bit, so if I’ve made it cumbersome to respond or to read, sorry! Your posts and picture are always fabulous. Go Beets!

Leave a Reply

