The saga of the Broad Bean and his bed

10 Nov

My parents recently gave my daughters a Japanese storybook chronicling a broad bean who so adored his bed, he refused to share it with his bean brethren, and ends up losing it to a Mama quail who decides to use the bed as her nest.

I thought the book was so fitting – Makinajian Farms has broad beans in their shells during the summer month, and my older daughter loves to help me prepare them by shelling them.  We blanch them, and we use our teeth to bite off a sliver of the thicker outer skin – similar to a membrane – and pop the buttery beans out, right into our mouths.  I know they are seasonal – so I try to buy them as often as possible when I see them at the farm. 

The story of the broad bean ends on a happy note – the baby quails hatch, the broad bean gets his bed back, and he learns to share the bed with his bean friends.  Broad beans do come in a tough shell, lined with a white, almost cotton batting-esque fuzz.  I can certainly appreciate the bean’s reluctance in sharing his bed!

Why the story of the broad bean?  I was on a mission to find quail eggs to pack for my daughter’s lunch – and found pre-boiled and peeled ones in a can at the Japanese store.  The eggs are small and cute – and the perfect size for packing in a lunch box.  Point to note – I’m not going for the balut effect – therefore, they are simply a smaller alternative to boiled, unfertilized, chicken eggs. 

Today’s lunch is:

Two boiled quail eggs

Blanched organic broccoli rabe chopped, seasoned with a little shaved katsuobushi and soy sauce

Steamed organic multi-grain rice, seasoned with some seaweed furikake

Boiled organic potatoes (white and purple ones) – tiny ones, almost the size of the quail eggs, seasoned with a little sea salt

Baked organic turkey meatballs with minced onion, celery, carrots and flax seeds

Unfortunately between my laptop and mobile phone being broken, I don’t have a photo of today’s lunch readily available… Will have to upload at a later time.

3 Responses to “The saga of the Broad Bean and his bed”

  1. PersephonesKitchen November 10, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    Love broad beans and those quail eggs must have been lovely to see. What’s the taste like compared to fresh? I’ll have to look for them next time I’m at our Japanese grocery.

    • spenmax November 11, 2010 at 2:09 pm #

      I’ll be very honest – the last time I had boiled, fresh quail eggs, I believe they were simmered in dashi, so I didn’t have a pure “quail” egg experience. For yesterday’s lunch, I put the eggs in boiling water for a few minutes – I figured for a secondary “pasteurization” process. The eggs were great – they didn’t have a tinny, canned taste, and I figured there probably wasn’t too much lost in the canning process. My daughter said she loved eating them.
      I’ll have to check out the other Japanese grocery store in the area for fresh quail eggs – I run out for my groceries during my lunch break, so I have to plan in advance for my cross-town drive.
      Broad beans are the best! We eat them like we eat edamame at our house, and reminds me of my grandfather in Gifu prefecture, feeding them to me when I was a child.

  2. DADAD November 11, 2010 at 7:27 pm #

    Wow, I want to see the picture of two quail eggs.
    The story is very heartwarming and good to kids.

Leave a Reply

