Middle of the week, middle of the month

17 Nov

My daughter loved the narutomaki in her bento, and she assured me, “Mama, I ate my lunch and it was very good.”  I was relieved, seeing there were only a few loose noodles and some slivers of peppers that were left over from lunch.  “Mama, I like the pink things,” she added with a smile.

Today’s lunch is a mix of western and Japanese flavors.  I had made yudofu for dinner last night, and had forgotten to save extra rice from dinner for her lunch.  I decided to make a quick pasta salad as her starch. 

I cooked a handful of organic, whole wheat pasta spirals, and added a handful of Trader Joe’s Organic Foursome (sweet peas, corn, beans and carrots), a quick dressing of organic olive oil and rice vinegar, topped with a dash of parmesan cheese.

In addition, her lunch consisted of the following:

Sautéed organic pea shoots, seasoned with a little salt, white pepper and crushed garlic.

Sautéed and braised mackerel fillet, lightly dusted with katakuriko, pan-sautéed in a little canola oil until the surface got crispy, and then lightly braised in some dashi, soy sauce, mirin and grated ginger.  I flaked and de-boned the fillet for her lunch.

Braised organic tofu, carrots and onion in a dashi, mirin and soy sauce marinade until the liquid was reduced.  Think – vegetarian, basic, sukiyaki without the meat and shirataki.

Hopefully she likes her lunch today too!

One Response to “Middle of the week, middle of the month”

  1. DADAD November 19, 2010 at 12:52 am #

    you got my advice for the fish to de-bone. Good!

Leave a Reply

