First snowfall of the season

14 Dec

Flurries have been teasing us for the past few days, but nothing resulted in significant accumulation.  Morning flurries have the girls staring upwards, their eyes open wide, their mouths smiling as they wave their mittened hands to try to touch the flakes of snow.

Last night I met my husband at the driveway as he was returning from taking the trash cans to the curb.  Snowflakes fell rapidly, blanketing my car – yet, my initial thought was that all would be gone before the morning commute.  The snow sifted to the ground and danced about, little tendrils of white as the wind blew across, and I hustled back into the warmth of the house.

I opened the blinds this morning, and saw about an inch and a half of light, powdery snow on the ground.  I started my morning routine, including waking the girls up with the “WOW!  Look at ALL the snow!” call.  My older one, usually a very non-morning grouch popped up, and peeked out of the window.  “Mama, I want to do this, ” she exclaimed, and imitated making a snow angel.  My heart tugged a bit since I knew this most likely wouldn’t be possible with my schedule – but I promised we’d do it, if not today, on another snow day.  My little one ran happy circles in her room, excited by everyone else’s excitement, and at the gorgeous white landscape outside her window.

Today’s lunch is:

Steamed beets, sliced

Whole wheat pasta spirals with sautéed mushrooms, onions, celery, mixed with tomato sauce and parmesan cheese

Rolled omelette with shirasu and blanched spinach, seasoned with a little sea salt

Mini hotdogs (conventional) cut into an octopus and a flower

2 Responses to “First snowfall of the season”

  1. PersephonesKitchen January 11, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    I love the idea of an omelette for lunch. And I’m so proud to say I just got the most adorable bento box for Cherub. She took it to school for the first time today. Thanks for the continuing ideas! And Happy New Year!

    • spenmax January 12, 2011 at 2:04 am #

      Happy New Year to you and your family!
      Omelettes are a staple for my daughter’s lunches… easy to make, easy to slip a variety of items into them, and as long as I season them well, they taste well at room temperature. Bento lunches rock! Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

