Swimming in Snow! Snow! Snow!

13 Jan

Our house was blanketed in more than a foot of lovely white yesterday, and we had a wonderful family snow day.  Papa cleared the driveway and walkways with the snowblower – a ribbon of white fluff relocated the snow, Kiki hopped around in the snow in circles, and the girls enjoyed exploring the various corners of the yard.  Of course the day didn’t start without drama – a good half hour of wailing and crying by the older one because she didn’t want to wear her winter coat, snow pants, boots, gloves or hat.  I probably should have allowed her to venture out in her wardrobe selection of skirt, tights and no sweater so she could understand, first hand, the importance of winter gear.  Next time.

I was able to put a few slow cooking dishes on the stove, and enjoyed a day of watching the girls and dog enjoy the beautiful snow.  They even had their own mugs of hot cocoa! (with marshmallows I purchased at Makinajian’s!)

Today’s lunch:

Sautéed cabbage, seasoned with a little pepper and soy sauce.  I let the soy sauce carmelize, adding a rich, savory edge to the sweet cabbage bits.  I was inspired to cook cabbage (normally I make an Asian “slaw” with shredded cabbage and thinly sliced red onion tossed with soy sauce, ginger and rice vinegar dressing) thanks to Elaine Louie’s lovely New York Times articles on cabbage this past week.

Roasted beets cut into penguin shapes (courtesy of a care package from Gigi and Baba)

Fresh veggie sticks (celery, cucumber and grape tomato)

Steamed multi-grain rice pilaf topped with Mabo Tofu.  I sautéed one minced onion, a half inch piece of ginger and two finely minced garlic cloves in canola oil, and set aside when they were done.  In the same pan, I browned a pound of ground turkey over medium heat.  Once the meat was done, I added the cooked onion and garlic, and added enough vegetable stock to immerse the meat, and set on the stove to simmer at very low heat for an hour.  I checked occasionally, and added more water as needed.  I then added a tablespoon of red miso dissolved in a half cup of water, and poured it over the meat mixture over low heat.  I let it reduce a bit more, and added a block (14 ozs) of House Medium Firm Tofu, cut into 1/2 inch cubes.  The key is to gently toss the tofu into the meat without crushing the tofu cubes.  Once the tofu heated through, I added two finely chopped (about 1/8 inch long pieces) scallions and slowly stirred it together.  I then added a slurry of katakuriko and water over everything, and slowly stirred until everything thickened.  Normally, I would add toubanjan or fermented spicy bean paste, but the last time I made this dish, I added too much and the girls refused to eat it.  I’ll just add to my portion when I warm it up.

Hopefully she’ll try everything.  The slow cooking of the turkey made it incredible tender and flavorful – and although it seems strange I would cook ground meat in such a manner, let’s say I was curious to see if it would be an improvement to the often dried out version I would make in a shorter span of time.

3 Responses to “Swimming in Snow! Snow! Snow!”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. In anticipation of the storm… week 4 « Spenmax's Blog - February 8, 2011

    […] of medium firm tofu that were blanched in boiling water and cooled prior to packing – a drop of soy sauce was […]

  2. Second week of February – we had a winner bento! « Spenmax's Blog - March 3, 2011

    […] mabo-tofu with scallions, zucchini, ginger and garlic, seasoned with a little miso, a little white pepper, […]

  3. A cheery Thursday bento on a snowy Spring morning « Spenmax's Blog - March 24, 2011

    […] Steamed multi-grain topped with mabo tofu.  Today’s mabo dofu included many vegetables.  I browned ground turkey, into which I added: finely pureed onion (food processor), 4 minced garlic cloves, 1/2 inch piece of ginger, 4 finely chopped beet greens and 4 cups vegetable broth.  I allowed everything to simmer (on medium low heat) for 30 minutes, constantly stirring until the onions “melted” into a sauce.  I then added 4 chopped scallions and stirred together.  I added a package of firm tofu, cut into 1/2 inch cubes, and mixed, gently, into the sauce.  Salt, white pepper and soy sauce seasoned this mixture, and I drizzled a tsp of sesame oil on the top.  Normally, I add miso as a kakushi aji (literally “hidden” taste) or an extra flavor dimension – but I’ve actually run out of miso, so I had to improvise.  A small bit of tobanjan to season, and to add color.  I tend to improvise based on what I have in the fridge, so the recipes vary from time to time depend… […]

Leave a Reply

