Non-bento mullings

11 Mar

Thankfully, my parents are safe in Japan.  I was frozen in horror this morning when I turned on the TV and saw the devastation in the Tohoku (northeast) area.  I called my parents on auto-pilot, and my father answered.  He reassured me he was fine, and told me he had sent me an email to let me know.  I wanted to shake the phone and say, “DAD! I don’t check my emails first thing in the morning!” but that  must have been a response resulting from my relief.

I later found out my parents were watching a television when they received the Earthquake  Early Warning on the program, which gave them a few moment’s notice.  They hid under the solid dining room table they had purchased while they were here – and I assume were there until the shaking was over. 

The incredible power of Mother Nature.  Although we advance, technologically, we’re still at her mercy.  I’m reminded by how fragile we are, and how life can change so quickly in a matter of seconds, minutes.

My thoughts are with those living in Japan, as well as those waiting to hear from family and friends.   May you find the strength and hope to pull through this extremely challenging time – we’re thinking of you.

3 Responses to “Non-bento mullings”

  1. PersephonesKitchen March 21, 2011 at 3:35 pm #

    I’m glad to hear your family is ok. I have been thinking of you.

    • spenmax March 22, 2011 at 1:30 pm #

      Thanks for the kind thoughts. It’s been quite stressful being so far away, as well as dealing with the “unknown” factors tied to the events since the original earthquake. Looking forward to the continued positive progress, and a quick resolution to the nuclear plant issue, so everyone can focus on rebuilding Japan.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Rogue Matt’s Wild Cherry, beets, quail eggs for lunch « Eating Battlezone - September 12, 2011

    […] my little attempts to try to support the regional economies devastated by the tsunami caused by the 3/11 Tohoku region earthquake.  Age-kama is surimi or fish that has been pounded and processed into a paste, and then cooked […]

Leave a Reply

