Five flavors of precipitation on a Wednesday

24 Mar

Perhaps it was the constant drumming of water on the roof that unsettled the little one, causing her to cry in her sleep.  A nightmare?

Perhaps it was the tossing-and-turning-tossing-and-turning sleep-dance that Max, our cat, orchestrated for my older one, and sent her sleepily into my room.

Either way, I was up at 3:00, 4:14 and 5:11 wishing it was a weekend the next day, so I could salvage some sleep time.

No such luck, however.  It definitely was a workday, jam-packed with appointments that spanned two states.

The weather forecast predicted snow, rain, freezing rain, sleet and drizzle.  That’s five flavors too many for me on this busy morning….

On Wednesdays, my daughter’s school offers a hot lunch for purchase.  These are not the conventional warmed-over institutional goop, rather, parents volunteer to provide a hot lunch for the participating students.  I thought, perhaps if I included a hot soup again, she might enjoy a warm lunch with her lunch mates.

So this Wednesday, I packed her a chicken rice soup I had made the night before.  Here’s how I made it:

Ingredients

10 cups water

3 celery stalks, chopped into 1/4 inch pieces

3 carrots, peeled, and chopped into 1/4 inch pieces

1 large onion, cut into 1/4 inch pieces

1/2 bag of Trader Joe’s baby spinach, washed

2 broccoli stalks – I keep the florets for my daughter’s lunches, and then I peel and chop up the stalks to use in soups or salads.  They are great – they are sweet and soft when cooked in the soup

salt, pepper and soy sauce to taste

5 chicken drumsticks

1 minced garlic clove

1 tsp grated fresh ginger

1 scallion – white and green parts included, finely chopped into pieces 1/16 inch wide

1 cup cooked multi-grain rice

I added a pinch of salt to the water, which I brought to a boil, and added the chicken drumsticks, and brought the water back up to a low boil.  I skimmed off the foam, and let the chicken cook completely.  I then picked the drumsticks out, and set aside to cool.

I added the chopped vegetables with the exception of the spinach, and chopped garlic, and simmered until they were soft. 

In the interim, I shredded the chicken pieces, and added the bones into the soup to simmer.

Once the vegetables softened, I added the rice, and allowed it to simmer for about 5 – 7 minutes.  I added the spinach, stirred them into the pot, and then added the ginger and scallion at the very end.  Adjust the flavor with the seasoning of your choice at the end.

In the morning, I pre-heated my daughter’s thermos by adding boiling water for 10 minutes.  I emptied the thermos, then added the soup, thoroughly heated.  The thermos I have for my daughter is great (I have one more myself as well) and keeps food hot for 4 – 5 hours.

Chopped red pepper pieces were put into a separate tupper as a snack.

Sorry – no picture, as I was dashing out of the house, kids in tow, to make the mind-numbing crawl en route to Elizabeth, NJ.  I was NOT looking forward to the Belt Parkway crawl at rush hour.

One Response to “Five flavors of precipitation on a Wednesday”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A cheery Thursday bento on a snowy Spring morning « Spenmax's Blog - March 24, 2011

    […] I managed to get home from my meetings in Elizabeth, New Jersey.  The Belt Parkway traffic was bearable – or I probably resigned myself I had no other choice.  At least it looks as though the D.O.T. is expanding the parkway.  At least I wasn’t in labor, like my hospital roommate with whom I shared a room with after I gave birth to my younger daughter. […]

Leave a Reply

