The spring break that wasn’t

25 Apr

I had grand ideas of how I was going to take my older daughter to New York City to the museum or the Central Park Zoo or even the Bronx Zoo during her week off from school.  I was contemplating how to fit it all into my schedule – but come Monday, at work, my head was starting to hurt, and I couldn’t stop shivering.

Monday night I willed myself to pick the girls up at daycare, and somehow managed to get them fed, bathed, and in bed. 

I then went to bed myself, with layers of blankets, sweat pants and sweatshirts – and still couldn’t stop shivering.  As much as I hate taking medicine, I took a full dose of cold medicine and went to bed.

The next day, I couldn’t move.

My older daughter crawled into bed, and every movement she made in the bed rattled every bone in my body.  I somehow managed to get both girls fed and dressed, and had my husband drop them off at daycare.

I figured if I slept for a little bit, I’d feel better.

I was wrong.

I managed to pick up both girls from daycare, and again, willed myself to get home, while every hair follicle seemed to throb on my scalp, and if I didn’t know any better, I would have been convinced I had cotton-mouth in the back of my throat. 

I don’t remember how I got the girls fed, bathed and in bed – but I remember crawling into bed, again, in layers, wondering why nothing I took was working. 

Turns out, I had strep throat.

All warm, fuzzy feelings of a mother-daughter bonding spring vacation went out the window, and I was relieved when I was able to pick up the antibiotics.  My older daughter looked at me, worriedly, and asked, “Mama, does every hair still hurt?”  I reassured her I would be fine.

My only regret was that I lost two valuable days I could have simply taken the time off to enjoy with the girls.

I knew I was in trouble when I started losing my appetite…  the only things I could seem to stomach was soup.  I craved a nice bowl of matzo ball soup, but I couldn’t will myself to drive out in search of any, and I was simply too sick to start making at home.  I relied on Chinese take-out which didn’t have the same allure – although hot and sour soup does do wonders for your sinuses – but limited when your throat feels as though it wants to pop off your head.

Hence – no, it wasn’t mikkabouzu, but a legitimate reason as to why I was absent from my blog…

P.S. As soon as I was able to think and function again, Friday, I went to Makinajian’s and picked up chicken and soup ingredients, and made a huge pot of stock.  I then made matzo ball soup – and managed to make them without a “pit” in the middle of them.  They certainly hit the spot.

Leave a Reply

