Onigiri

16 May

In Hayao Miyazaki’sSen to Chihiro no Kamikakushi (Spirited Away)” there is a scene where Haku, offers Sen, an onigiri (rice ball) , and tells her to eat so she can keep up her spirits.  As Sen eats them, she starts crying – and although this is an animated film, it brought me to tears.  There’s something comforting about the weight and feel of an onigiri, as well as a very familiar smell of rice, nori (seaweed) and depending on the seasoning, the fragrant smells of ume-shiso (pickled plum and perilla leaves) powder, or nutty sesame seeds.  My mother packed triangular ones – and we often took onigiri and boiled eggs on road trips as a quick meal.  I still remember the weight of the onigiri in my hands, a palpable souvenir of mother’s love in the form of a simple rice ball – portable sustenance and a reflection of Japanese culinary, cultural, and  historic reverence for rice.

Jiji and Baba suggested I start making onigiri for my older daughter’s mini-lunch at Japanese school, so I took on the challenge.  I bought a small bag of sprouted brown rice at the Japanese store, and had a fresh batch of steamed rice ready on Saturday morning.

I made two types.  One type had a pre-mixed onigiri seasoning I received in a care package – and the other one had a center of mentaiko or seasoned pollack roe.  I mixed the onigiri seasoning into some fresh rice, and after it was well incorporated, I wet my hands, took a deep breath, and started making the onigiri.

Based on the photo of my first try – I don’t think I did too poorly.  Perhaps a bit misshapen – and a little lopsided… but it tasted fine!  My older daughter had one for breakfast, and took one for lunch – I did the same.

On our ride home, she told me, “Mama, can you make the rice-ballie again?”

I’ll have to figure out how to increase other grains while retaining the rice’s stickiness.  Practice will make perfect… I just have to prepare to eat a lot of my mistakes!

26 Responses to “Onigiri”

  1. Chandra May 21, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

    Your kitchen table is where I first had onigiri. Made, of course, by your mom. I think of that moment every time I see them.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Mid-May Monday Onigiri Bento « Eating Battlezone - May 16, 2011

    […] After the success of my onigiri attempt, my daughters have both been requesting rice-ballies-with-nori for every meal.  […]

  2. Onigiri = Sushi? « Eating Battlezone - May 17, 2011

    […] gently corrected her.  “It’s an onigiri, […]

  3. Eating Battlezone - May 18, 2011

    […] addicted to making onigiri these days.  There’s something very calming about forming the hot, steamed rice into various […]

  4. A week of asparagus and onigiri « Eating Battlezone - May 19, 2011

    […] used 1 cup of the Kagayaki sprouted brown rice, and 1 cup organic brown rice, and found the onigiri stayed together well.  I don’t know whether this was because of the cooker setting, but for […]

  5. Easter bunnies and bento « Eating Battlezone - May 23, 2011

    […] If you recall, last week, I remarked how I find my morning onigiri making to be absolutely meditative and soothing.  Zen-nigiri, let’s call it – a play on onigiri itself! […]

  6. Holey Renkon! It’s Tuesday’s bento! « Eating Battlezone - May 24, 2011

    […] Onigiri with steamed brown rice, ground sesame seeds, a little katsuobushi wrapped in nori […]

  7. Filled onirigi for a change « Eating Battlezone - May 25, 2011

    […] Onigiri with a okaka filling.  If you recall, my earlier attempts at making onigiri were thwarted by two main things.  The multi-grain rice that refused mold into a cohesive ball, and my filling had too much soy-sauce.  My earlier attempts had me trying to make a rice ball with grains that scattered across the counter – almost as though to mock my pitiful attempt at getting them pressed into shape – and the ultimate tipping point was when I added my okaka (katsuobushi mixed with a little soy sauce), it contained too much liquid, and when I tried to mold the unruly grains around my filling, it decided to break out of the other side of my pathetic onigiri.  This time, I used the brown rice/Kagayaki haigagenmai mix (1:1) and I reduced the amount of soy sauce mixed into a tablespoon of the katsuobushi.  I added the soy sauce a drop at a time while stirring gently with chopsticks until the katsuobushi flakes came together in a ball.  Fast stirring = a cloud of katsuobushi that made me sneeze, while our feline family members came stomping down the hall, into the kitchen, and weaving between my legs.  […]

  8. Homestretch for the month of May « Eating Battlezone - May 26, 2011

    […] was the month of onigiri experimentation, and although I enjoy the convenience and zen of making the rice balls, I know I […]

  9. May bento’s last hurrah! « Eating Battlezone - May 31, 2011

    […] Onigiri with a grilled salted salmon (shiozake) filling made with the Kagayaki rice, wrapped with nori […]

  10. June bento – summer’s arrived! « Eating Battlezone - June 1, 2011

    […] thought to myself, I’ll just have to pack her an onigiri with shiozake filling – my hands happily anticipating the rice-ball making session in the […]

  11. First weekend of June « Eating Battlezone - June 7, 2011

    […] Onigiri with an okaka center. […]

  12. Tuesday, the 158th day of 2011 « Eating Battlezone - June 7, 2011

    […] Onigiri with kohlrabi leaves and katsuobushi filling – tawara shaped onirigi made with Kagayaki sprouted brown rice wrapped with nori […]

  13. Deja vu Wednesday… « Eating Battlezone - June 8, 2011

    […] confess, I packed the same lunch as I did yesterday for my daughter, except that her onigiri was […]

  14. Hazy lazy Thursday bento « Eating Battlezone - June 9, 2011

    […] lunch broke away from my onigiri streak – partially because the girls will be having onigiri bento for my older daughter’s Undo-kai, or sports day, this weekend (weather permitting).  I […]

  15. Bento for June 2011 Undokai (Sports Day) « Eating Battlezone - June 13, 2011

    […] types of onigiri – center of umeboshi, okaka (katsuobushi + soy sauce), mentaiko, and a filling made with […]

  16. Last week of bentos for American School until September « Eating Battlezone - June 13, 2011

    […] Onigiri  with grilled shiozake (salted salmon) center – I finally mustered enough time and strength to grill this – with the chicken drumstick.  I actually used 1:1 ratio of the multi-grain mix (Brown rice, quinoa, millet, wheat berries) with organic white rice.  The combination worked, and I was able to actually make onigiri that could retain its shape without crumbling. […]

  17. Mama’s little helper’s bento « Eating Battlezone - June 15, 2011

    […] at the adorable little onigiri!” I told […]

  18. Purple, Yellow, they’re all the same! « Eating Battlezone - June 27, 2011

    […] Onigiri with okaka (katsuobushi, or shaved bonito flakes lightly moistened with soy sauce, and some sesame seeds mixed in) made with 1/2 brown, 1/2 short grain.  I tried to use the multi-grain mix, but it was too crumbly.  […]

  19. First day of “English” school for Fall 2011 « Eating Battlezone - September 7, 2011

    […] Onigiri made with 1/3 white, 1/3 brown, 1/3 multi-grain (quinoa, millet, pearled barley, wheat berries) steamed rice.  Center filling is okaka, (shaved bonito with a little soy sauce to moisten) wrapped in nori. […]

  20. Soboro onigiri, cresson goma ae and wings « Eating Battlezone - September 20, 2011

    […] indent, and fill it with the daily onigiri center filling (soboro today) and form the rest of the onigiri.  Nori strip to wrap up, and we are […]

  21. December 2011 bentos ~ first week through the 8th « Eating Battlezone - January 3, 2012

    […] onigiri with yukari seasoning, wrapped in […]

  22. Salvaging-my-onigiri bento « Eating Battlezone - January 17, 2012

    […] wrapped with a tuxedo cummerbund of nori, a black belt smartly wrapped around the rice belly.  My onigiri are often a slight beige color, and often, a bit crumbly since the various grains aren’t as […]

  23. Wednesday hump day… « Eating Battlezone - March 21, 2012

    […] onigiri with okaka filling, wrapped in nori.  After a few days of half-eaten onigiri, I asked whether she preferred a sandwich.  “No, no, I just like little onigiri,” she […]

  24. Salmon patty Wednesdaymeen « Eating Battlezone - April 4, 2012

    […] Multi-grain onigiri – (white and brown rice, millet, barley, quinoa and wheat berries, steamed) with a store-bought seasoned konbu (kelp) center, wrapped in nori […]

  25. New Year, New Grade, New Challenge… « Eating Battlezone - April 9, 2012

    […] Multi-grain onigiri with furikake seasoning, okaka filling, wrapped with a strip of nori […]

Leave a Reply

