Onigiri = Sushi?

17 May

 As I picked up my girls from daycare last night, my older daughter put on her serious face and told me, “Mama.  I tried a little bit of everything in my lunch.”

“Did you like what was in your bento?” I asked.  I was a little worried about what she might say about her lunch-mates’ comments.

“My friend said, ‘You have sushi for lunch!'” she beamed.

I was amazed.  I don’t recall knowing many 4-year olds who knew what sushi was… I figured this wasn’t the time to open up the debate over vinegared rice roll = sushi, regular rice ball = onigiri, but I was amused.

She added, “I want another ballie for tomorrow!”

I gently corrected her.  “It’s an onigiri, ok?”

“Ballie?” asked the little one.

“No, it’s an onigiri,” I repeated.

Both furrowed their eyebrows.  Ballie, no ballie or onigiri, they wanted one again.

When I got home, my daughter brought out her lunchbox and said, “Mama, can you help me open my bento box so I can finish it?”

The bento box seemed extremely light – but I unlatched the cover and gave my daughter the bento box.

“Mama, ZEEEEEEEN-BU Owatta-yo! (Mama I finished eeeeeverything!)” she beamed, as she proudly held open her bento box.  She held up her empty lunchbox on Skype to show Jiji and Baba in Japan as well.

“Good job!” they both said.  Jiji, I believe, is beaming because his onigiri idea has been so successful. 

Today’s lunch included:

Age kama (fried Kamaboko, or fish-cakes) cut into cat shapes

Grilled salmon fillet (conventional, wild)

Blanched asparagus

Sprouted brown rice onigiri mixed with furikake with sesame seeds and katsuobushi

Boiled quail eggs (conventional)

Sliced red peppers

8 Responses to “Onigiri = Sushi?”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Natsu matsuri bento « Eating Battlezone - July 11, 2011

    […] Onigiri with salted salmon and sesame seed furikake with an okaka center.  Strip of nori.  Again – key is to use only enough soy sauce to lightly moisten the katsuobushi, otherwise, you will be eating your onigiri with a spoon/fork! […]

  2. Bento full of requested items « Eating Battlezone - September 6, 2011

    […] daughter:  Mama, I want meatballies, cucumber, tomato, beets in hearts only, quail egg and an onigiri.  But I want the brown filling for the onigiri and some nori on the […]

  3. Soboro onigiri, cresson goma ae and wings « Eating Battlezone - September 20, 2011

    […] I took freshly steamed rice in slightly wet hands, and cupped my fingers to create a round onigiri.  With my other hand, I create a “finger” indent, and fill it with the daily onigiri […]

  4. Fall eggplant bento « Eating Battlezone - September 28, 2011

    […] Agekama cut into cat shapes […]

  5. Salvaging-my-onigiri bento « Eating Battlezone - January 17, 2012

    […] onirigi are made with snowy white rice, wrapped with a tuxedo cummerbund of nori, a black belt smartly […]

  6. A little greens here, a little gomashio there… « Eating Battlezone - February 2, 2012

    […] onigiri with grilled and flaked shiozake (salted salmon) filling, wrapped with […]

  7. Post spring break 2012 « Eating Battlezone - April 30, 2012

    […] Onigiri with okaka center #gallery-1 { margin: auto; } #gallery-1 .gallery-item { float: left; margin-top: 10px; text-align: center; width: 50%; } #gallery-1 img { border: 2px solid #cfcfcf; } #gallery-1 .gallery-caption { margin-left: 0; } […]

  8. Wednesday bento and the blueberry chronicles « Eating Battlezone - May 15, 2012

    […] onigiri in tawara (rice barrel) shape, sprinkled with black sesame seeds for crunch, no center, wrapped with […]

Leave a Reply

