A scramble for a starch

15 Sep

My timing was a little off for today’s lunch.  I forgot to prepare the rice cooker last night (timed to be ready at 6:00 am) so I was a bit panicked this morning.

Boiled egg in bunny shape (photo is a bit blurry), roasted beet stars, blanched edamame, and mini boiled hot dogs with their little pattern were quickly assembled.

Then started a frantic inventory of quick, easy, and healthy starches.  Without rice, onigiri was out of the question.  My husband recently fell off the multi-grain bread wagon, and had surreptitiously bought himself a loaf of WHITE, fluffy (conventional) bread – this was out of the question for me.  Soba noodles didn’t inspire me, and I ruled out making yakisoba (pan-fried) noodles due to time constraints.

I found a bag of organic vegetable pasta twists, which I boiled up, and seasoned with Trader Joe’s basil marinara sauce.  This will just have to do.

In the meantime, the little one had a glimpse of her sister’s bento before breakfast, and I then had an extremely defiant and cranky child pushing away her Oatios, and asking for “Mama, bento, edamame, edamame, edamame, MINE!!”

I then had my older one retort, “It’s MY bento, NOT YOURS! MY EDAMAME!”

A cacophony followed of defiant “No, not yours!” and “MY BENTO, MY edamame!!”

Ah… just another typical work morning…

 

Leave a Reply

