Stuffed pepper and savory omelette bento

22 Sep

We were spared from any power outages during Hurricane Irene – and the only damage we suffered were my pole beans being toppled over.  I leaned them against the trellis since the poles were too heavy for me to try to make them upright again.

The tomatoes (planned and rogue), shiso, kale, and peppers managed to survive unscathed, and we are enjoying them as the summer winds down.

Today’s lunch is:

Stuffed pepper – essentially, I took the ground turkey-carrot-celery-onion-ginger-garlic-oatmeal mixture from the meatballs, and stuffed them in pepper halves from our garden.  I baked them in a 350 oven for about 30 minutes – I added a topping of 1:1 ketchup and HP Sauce (with a drizzle of Worcestershire) in the last 5 minutes.  Shelled edamame made the face, and I called it a “teddy bear.”  My older daughter was convinced.

Savory omelette – Two beaten eggs, seasoned with 1 tbs mirin, 1 tsp soy sauce.  I poured the mixture into a preheated, lightly greased cast iron pan, and stirred occasionally while the egg set.  I used two chopsticks, pulling the cooked edges of egg into the center, allowing more surface area to cook for the raw egg, and adding air into the egg making it fluffier.  When the edges cooked, I added cooked watercress (liquid squeezed out, cut into 1/2 inch pieces) and 1 heaping tbs of the turkey soboro.  I folded half of the omelette over the filling, and continued cooking until all the egg was cooked.  I continually flipped the omelette – I find this to help create a more rectangular shape so it’s easier to manage and to cut.  Normally, if we are eating an omelette at home, I will allow the omelette to be a bit more moist; however, I didn’t want any excess liquid in the bento box, so I cooked this omelette well.  Once done, I removed it from heat, and cut them into bite sized pieces.  I packed two slices for my daughter’s bento – and the rest the girls ate for breakfast.  (one slice was cut into at an angle)

Onigiri with mentaiko filling – this might be a strike-out, since mentaiko, or marinated pollack row is salty, and also may be a bit spicy.  We’ll see if this is the case – but I had wanted to provide some variety with the fillings this week….

Red Grapes

Tomorrow is pizza lunch day!

Leave a Reply

