Playing catch up and beyond…

23 Nov

October arrived, and whooshed past with numerous events and items, and quickly disappeared.  Year-end chaos is almost upon us… and here I am again, shuddering as I hear the faint drumbeat of holiday chaos steadily, but surely, approaching.

My apologies for the blatant gap in bento entries… but thankfully, it’s not a sign of my daughter going hungry, but rather, that I have been quite busy.

We step back into mid October, and will play some catch up.

 

This lunch was for Monday, the 24th.  Left over eggplant rollatini from a very good pizza place in our town – Broadway Pizza with the most delicious sauce, and very friendly service.  Great Auntie Brenda was in from London, and we quickly put together a family dinner – a veggie pop (vegetables baked in sauce in a pizza dough roll), meat lasagne and eggplant rollatini were enjoyed by all… including my daughter, who had some eggplant for lunch.

Baked drumette and wing with salt and pepper, squeeze of fresh lemon juice

Grape tomatoes

Purple pepper slices from Makinajian’s Poultry Farm

Roasted Chioggia beet slices in star shapes (from the farm too!)

Roasted Chicken thigh, shredded – Baked at 325 degrees, seasoned with salt, pepper and a drop of soy sauce until cooked through.  I refrigerated the chicken once it was cooled, and then shredded it before packing.

Sliced purple pepper

Blanched broccoli and asparagus, grape tomato

Multi-grain onigiri with okaka filling

Sauteed boneless chicken thigh and onion slices marinated in soy sauce, lemon juice, rice vinegar and sesame oil.  The chicken thigh was sliced into 1/2 inch pieces, and pan-sauteed in a little olive oil until cooked through.

Sauteed sliced cabbage, and Trader Joe’s foursome frozen vegetables in olive oil, drop of soy sauce, white pepper, drizzle of Worcestshire sauce over medium heat.  Once the cabbage slices are translucent, it’s good to go!

Grape tomatoes

Multi-grain rice onigiri with okaka – I’ve been on an okaka kick this month… I haven’t had a chance to go to the Japanese store for salmon…

Roasted beets in hearts and stars, per my daughter’s request

Blanched broccoli

Multi-grain rice, seasoned with a little sea salt, sprinkled with white and black sesame seeds with nori cut into cat shapes – TWO – representing our beloved cat sisters, Max and Spencer.  I used scissors and sheer instinct to try to cut the shapes

Sauteed chicken thigh and onion (see earlier recipe) with blanched asparagus, carrot sticks over julienned romaine lettuce

Baked chicken drumstick, off the bone

Blanched broccoli

Roasted beet quarters

Multi-grain rice with black sesame seeds and a little sea salt

I honestly don’t know what happened to my scheduling, but I found myself running out of a business lunch – listening to my daycare provider (Lala, you are an angel) leave a voicemail, confirming I had arranged for my daughter’s pick up from school.  I was in the middle of midtown Manhattan in a worn-out suit, cursing the annoying bleeping of my mobile phone and the automated woman’s voice repeating over and over, “We are unable to complete you call at this time…” as I frantically tried to dial Lala that I had INDEED forgotten to confirm and secure my daughter’s pick up from school.

It has been quite a couple of weeks.

Dear reader, no need to call CPS – my daughter was happily enjoying her crafts and aftercare, and I breathed a sigh of relief knowing my dear Lala had again, come to my rescue.  It is truly a rare find – a daycare or childcare provider whom you can truly rely on as you try to concentrate on earning your daily bread…

Thank you Lala, and thank you dear reader for stopping by, despite the obvious sidetracking that has taken place!!

Leave a Reply

