Papa’s paella – Anniversary 2011

30 Dec

Papa is a man of few words, but of many actions.  I once mentioned to my husband, how I wanted to start an organic garden.  A few months later, two raised-beds were built, and shortly after (after all the edamame shoots were devoured by bunnies) a chicken wire fence surrounded my garden.

 

Last month, all thoughts of celebrating our wedding anniversary slipped away as I was absorbing and trying to deal with my grandfather’s passing.

Papa remembered what I had said months before, how I wanted a shellfish dinner for our anniversary, and surprised me with seafood paella, topped with a steamed lobster.  Papa’s paella included sautéed sausage, little necks, mussels, calamari, shrimp, scallops, peas and capers, baked in with yellow rice.  Not to mention, all was cooked in a  most orderly, serene, methodical fashion – instead of the mayhem that surrounds the kitchen on my watch.

Indeed, a man of action.

Happy Anniversary!

Leave a Reply

