Thursday lunch with a bento debate

13 Jan

Thursday’s lunch included:

Carrot sticks

Baked chicken wingette and drummette

Watercress goma-ae, or blanched and well-drained (wrung) watercress cut into 1/4 inch pieces (easier for my daughter to manage), and tossed with a soy sauce, rice vinegar, mirin and ground sesame seed (goma) dressing.  The ratio was 1 tsp each ingredient except for the mirin – I added 1/4 tsp.

Multi-grain onigiri with turkey soboro filling

Sautéed mushrooms

During our car ride home yesterday, my daughter spoke softly as we slowed down at a stop sign.

“Mama, P__ and L__ said ‘Your lunch is IWWW’,” her eyes filling with tears.  I pulled my car over to the side of the road, and turned to look at her.

“Do you love sushi and noodles?” I asked.

“Yes,” she replied.

“Do you know, when Mama was  a little girl, a lot of people in my school told me that sushi  and noodles in soup were yucky?”

My daughter’s eyes opened wide.

“Do you like eating sushi and noodles?” I asked her.

“Yes!” she replied, nodding her head.

“Don’t you think it’s silly that people would say ‘Iw” to something that’s so yummy and that you love?”

She nodded, slowly.  Both girls adore their ikura (salmon roe) sushi, as well as various other items.

“Well, it’s like that with your bento.  Your friends might not have tried any of your yummy bento, so instead of saying ‘Hey, what’s that?’ they are being silly and saying ‘Iw.'”

“If you want, I can pack you a sandwich every day,” I added.

“Nooooo I like my bento,” she replied, and brightened up.

She later explained to Jiji and Baba over skype, as well as to Papa when he came home from work. 

I added, “Don’t you think it’s a shame that those kids that said ‘Iw’ about ikura never tried it before they said it?  That’s why Mama and Papa always tell you to try something before saying you like it or you don’t like it.”

“I want a bento every day,” she replied, and nodded, firmly.

I hugged her tightly. 

 

 

 

One Response to “Thursday lunch with a bento debate”

  1. Jenn Edden January 15, 2012 at 3:34 pm #

    you are an awesome MOM!!! And did I mention your bento boxes rock!!!!!!!!

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

