We love beets, from root to leaf!

27 Feb

As you may know, my daughter loves having beets in her bentos. I roast them in the oven, peel away the delicate skins after they’ve cooled enough to handle them, and I cut them various shapes.

The cut-out bits join at dinner-time, transformed into chopped salad toppings, or tossed with various seasonings – soy sauce, rice vinegar/lemon juice, sesame oil, and enjoyed as an accompanying dish.

Recently, one of the owners of Makinajian Farm told me she slices up raw turnips and tosses with beet slices – and I added that to our repertoire. The beet juice turns the sliced turnips into gorgeous magenta pieces, and the girls enjoy the beautiful salad – with contrasting texture and flavor.

I usually purchase beets that have lush leaves attached, and saute the well-rinsed (SEVERAL CHANGES OF WATER!!) leaves, cut up into inch long pieces, in a little olive oil and smashed garlic cloves.

I favor cooking them in my cast-iron pan, and heat it up to medium high. Add the oil, and the beet greens. I toss the pieces well, coasting them with the olive oil, and cook until they turn a gorgeous dark green.

I season them with a pinch of salt, and a few cracks of fresh pepper. Of course, sometimes, a quick drizzle of soy sauce, and serve.

 

Leave a Reply

