First week of March 2012 – bento wrap up

12 Mar

Works kept me busy, humming along, with various projects and tasks taking up time and energy.

I was starting to get into the swing of things again, and I was trying to step out of the “routine” bento.

 

Thursday bento included:

Baked chicken thighs, seasoned with white pepper, salt, soy sauce and slivered ginger, pulled off of the bone

Blanched broccoli florets

Blanched sugar snap peas – I make extra and serve as a vegetable side at dinner, which both girls love… They both sit at the kitchen table peeling the two sides of the pods apart, and slo-w-ly, pick each pea out, chew carefully, and nibble down the pods. 

Boiled egg in star shape

Blueberries

Japanese school lunch included:

Baked chicken drumstick – marinated in soy sauce, sesame oil, rice vinegar and baked in the oven at 325 degrees until the meat is melting-ly tender, and is falling off the bone.

Half a boiled egg – heart shape (the other half was packed in a mini-bento for the little one)

Marinated quartered, and sliced raw turnip, and celery ribs (about 1/8 inch thick) marinated overnight in soy sauce, rice vinegar, sesame oil and grated ginger.  The turnip slices – sweet, and delicate on their own, are a perfect match for the refreshing flavor of this marinade.  The celery adds a subtle herby, grassiness, as well as an additional crunch – I fill a glass, Marinara sauce jar full to the top with the sliced vegetables, and add the marinade in a ratio of 1:1 for soy sauce and vinegar, 1/4 the amount for sesame oil, and a healthy size of ginger, grated in a little ceramic grater carried over from my childhood.  I add the lid, and shake everything together, gently, and leave in the refrigerator, turning it upside down on occasion.  The girls love this “pickle” and snack on it as they wait for dinner in the evenings.

Blueberries

I’m still getting the hang of the new bento box – trying to gauge the appropriate amount of food can be challenging sometimes.

Not to mention, with my newly injured foot, it has been a challenging trying to coordinate everything while hobbling around the house trying to keep the flow of things consistent.

I laugh as I just re-read above sentence – and a scene from a recent film comes to mind. 

As you may know, I am an avid fan of Hayao Miyazaki.  He directed Howl’s Moving Castle, and in this film, there actually is a scene where a newly “aged” character is hobbling about, trying to figure out what had just happened to her.  (I’m withholding details in case you are planning on seeing the film)

Dear reader, if you ARE familiar with the scene – my recent weeks remind me of the scene where Sophie is creeping past the mirror in her hat shop, and jumping upon seeing her reflection – and creeping past, muttering to herself that this is just a bad dream.

Now that I think about it, perhaps my daughters’ obsession with turnips came from this recent film viewing?  ** There is a character in the film named “Turnip Head.”

Turnip head or not, I hope my foot heals quickly so I can return to my normal self again… soon.

4 Responses to “First week of March 2012 – bento wrap up”

  1. PersephonesKitchen March 12, 2012 at 6:47 pm #

    I’m sure you’ve said this in the past, but how’d you do the egg in the star shape. I’ve got instructions for the heart shape. But the star. I’m intrigued.

Leave a Reply

